top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureVeeps

Don’t burn down your shop!

The last thing anyone wants is to have an unexpected fire start in their shop. Grinding and welding create a ton of sparks which can cause fire, but something most people don’t expect is a fire spontaneously starting from a crumpled up rag. Think about it, you use a rag to stain a woodworking project, or you use BLO ( https://amzn.to/2U4ISKc ) to coat an old cast iron tool, and you crumple up the rag and toss it on your bench or floor. I’ve done it and I bet you have too.


Linseed oil and other oils used to in wood finishes generate heat during the drying process. This is because these oils dry through oxidation which generates heat. It’s the same process that generates fire. I’m not an expert but you can search online to find more information and a bunch of videos about oxidation and spontaneous combustion.


When you soak a cotton fiber rag or paper towel in these oils, and crumple it up, you create the perfect recipe for spontaneous combustion.


I use BLO ( https://amzn.to/2U4ISKc ) on almost all my tool restorations, and have never had a good place to put the used rags while I’m working. I’ve even felt the rags start to heat up after a while. I did always made sure the rags were nowhere near anything combustible but usually they were just layed out flat in the middle of the floor.


Now I have this can to put the rags in.


It‘s right next to my workbench so I can’t accidentally leave an oily rag somewhere and forget about it. I put them in this metal container until I‘m done for the day and then take them outside to safely dry.


Here is a link to one on amazon. https://amzn.to/2EpljX4


It’s well worth it and a good reminder to properly handle those oily rags.


It‘s best to dry the rags by laying them out flat on something outside like a drying rack or your driveway, away from anything combustable. After they dry you can safely throw them in the trash.


Stay safe so you can continue to enjoy your workshop!

73 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page